Peek-A-Boo Records

Peek-A-Boo News

Saturday, August 11, 2007

The Octopus Project announces album details, massive tour

The Octopus Project - portrait embroidered by Jenny Hart

As reported last month on Pitchfork, Peek-A-Boo Records is proud to release The Octopus Project's third proper full-length, Hello, Avalanche, on October 9th, 2007. Partially tracked to tape, partially to Pro Tools and with some parts taken from home demos, the band has achieved the perfect blend between high-end studio trickery and lo-fi home experimentation on its best outing yet.

With ragged, furious distorted guitars at one end of the spectrum and the pure, luminescent tones of the Theremin at the other, the members of The Octopus Project mine a staggering variety of sounds in between (via synthesizers, drums, violins, glockenspiel, trombones, etc...) to fill these new songs with brilliant contrasting colors and cascading waves of sonic bliss. And as Yvonne Lambert has continued to gain notoriety for her expert Theremin-playing skills, the band has developed its multi-tracked-Theremins concept to its fullest extent, as evidenced on the track "I Saw The Bright Shinies."

The Octopus Project kicks off a massive tour spanning four months this week, on which the band will support Cinemechanica, Stereo Total and Aesop Rock before breaking away for its own headlining tour. If you'd like a preview, New York Magazine has posted video footage of the band performing material from the new record at a special performance in Brooklyn last month, headlining one of the now-annual McCarren Park Pool Parties with support from Dan Deacon and Erase Errata.

Hello, Avalanche track listing:

01. Snow Tip Cap Mountain
02. Truck
03. Bees Bein' Strugglin'
04. An Evening With Rthrtha
05. Black Blizzard/Red Umbrella
06. Upmann
07. Mmaj
08. I Saw The Bright Shinies (MP3)
09. Ghost Moves
10. Vanishing Lessons
11. Exploding Snowhorse
12. Loud Murmuring
13. Queen

» The Octopus Project Tour Dates
© 2007 Peek-A-Boo Records